Microphone recommendations?

Sharon

Full GL Member
Credits
At some point I'd like to do a podcast and/or narration of some sort. I'm in the market for a nice microphone. I've been looking at the Shure MV7 or the AudioTechnica AT2020 ...and possibly an interface. I heard that having a proper microphone can improve your clarity for conference calls/zoom meetings. I've no experience with owning a microphone though and am in the preliminary stage of research. Do you guys have any advice?

I do not currently, but about a week from now that's gonna change. Some friends of mine have it, and they are very pleased with it, and from what I've seen, it's definitely gonna work better for me than my Røde mic is currently. The Shure needs to be closer to your source of sound (aka mouth) to pick it up well, but imo that's good. it mitigates a lot of keyboard clicks and background noise that the Røde is crazy good at picking up, which is terrible for me when I try to make videos for youtube.

And hey, I heard Michael Jackson recorded some of his hits on one of it's predecessors.

That's interesting! I will definitely keep it as one of my top contenders. I'm wondering if it's important to have a interface and does it matter which one? I see reviewers talk about the Scarlett Interface.

I believe it is an XLR microphone, and in that sense you can't just plug it directly into your computer - you need a "middle man". Myself I have the scarlett interface, which I use for various studio microphones, and for recording my el-guitar onto the computer directly without having to use a microphone by the amplifier. In a guitar sense it has it's limitations, but it's a good interface.

Thanks for the insight TheFjordFox TheFjordFox I will seriously consider the Scarlett interface. At this rate I'd be looking at around $370 before accessories and taxes. Yikes! It's adding up and it's hard to bite the bullet knowing it's not going to make me any money. lol