New to anime, need some help!

Zoey

Full GL Member
Credits
Hey guys,

I am a complete anime newbie. Recently I've decided to give anime ago because I often see so many people discussion different ones and I want to join in. I always assumed that anime is that cheesy over the top sort of thing but I've been educated that there's plenty to choose from and that it has many, many different genres.

The anime that I've seen and really enjoyed is Death Note and Attack on Titan. I've watched things like Dragonball Z when I was a kid but that was YEARS ago.

I'd really love some help and suggestions as to what I should be watching and that it would fit my taste. Like, I've said, I dislike cheesy and over the top anime. What I'm trying to find is more intense, darker, psychological, murders sort of anime? If there's such a mix. Or if you think that there's certain series that any anime lover must see?

All help is greatly appreciated and hopefully, I will be able to educate myself more about it in the future. Looks very interesting.

Well, if you're looking for dark and murder, then allow me to introduce you to Darker Than Black. I haven't watched it since 2011 so I don't remember all of it, but it takes place in this world where people take contracts (I think giving up their humanity? I can't remember) in order to get supernatural powers. It's really heavy.

Kurokami is another one I really like, but again, it's been 6 years so I can't remember is it's "cheesy." The whole premise is that in the world there are 2 people who look exactly like you and if you or your other doppelgangers run into each other, one of you is destined to die, and the last one standing the the "real" you.

If you want a deep love story, that might get cheesy because it's a love story, but it will destroy your emotions, check out Clannad. There's also Clannad After Story, but I haven't seen it.