PC/Mobile Will indies have to go to publishers to make it?

Thunder_Crackle

Credits
Given the current market of indie mobile games we see that starting with a zero budget on promoting your game is almost impossible to make a living off your game, so will there be a decline in indie games? making it so that only big name companies can make games?

It could be like the indie music and movie scene where during the actual production is done independently, but the release and marketing will be done and distributed by the major companies.

I used to be an indie game developer, and have successfully self-published 1 game for the Wii U and 1 game for the New 3DS.
There was no publisher in between, and yet it proved it's perfectly possible.

On both games' release in the first month in each region the games made quite a nice amount of money.
It was always far from enough to pay all the bills, and both games received more criticism than love, but I was satisfied nonetheless.

However, I'm not saying it's perfectly possible to make a living this way, remember I've always been a single person developer studio (technically nowadays too as a web engineer at the company I work for, since I'm the only programmer there), but economics has always been the least concerning thing to me as a game developer, since I always worked as a web engineer as other companies at the same time.

But the games industry is still not suitable for a single person if you ever want to become successful.
One can have excellent programming skills, but will lack art skills, and vice versa.
And what you find an interesting concept might be seen as a joke to 1000s of others.

And however you look at it, there's the issue of publicity.
Free publicity exists, but will always be harder to do, and if done, far less attention will be caught.
On the other hand, paid publicity can be too unaffordable to care about, while still being the most effective.